This data has many benefits including enabling you to easily tell when and where a photo was taken. iPhone users that have upgraded to iOS 7 will notice that their photos are now grouped to the day the photos were taken. EXIF data makes this possible.
The downside is that when you share these photos with others they can easily see where a photo was taken and when.
But before you start deleting all your Facebook photos you should know that social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest automatically strip this data from your photos when you share them.
You should be aware though that photos that you share via email, Dropbox or other photo-sharing services such as Flickr, will keep all EXIF data intact unless you have removed it yourself or you have changed your account settings.
If you want to be sure that the location of your photos cannot be read then turning this feature off on your iPhone is easy;
Go to Settings>Privacy>Location Services and turn off Camera
But what about all those photos that you already have?